in ,

India’s lawmakers vote to elect country’s 15th President today

News Agencies

New Delhi, July 18: Nearly 4,800 MPs and MLAs will vote today to choose the 15th President of India as the tenure of Ram Nath Kovind will end on July 24. National Democratic Alliance’s Droupadi Murmu and Opposition’s joint candidate Yashwant Sinha are the main candidates in the fray for the presidential poll.
Jammu & Kashmir’s PAGD is supporting Yashwant Sinha’s candidature while as the BJP is supporting Droupadi Murmu.
The polling will take place between 10 am and 5 pm in the Parliament and state legislative assemblies. The counting of votes will take place on July 21, Thursday, and the next President will swear in on July 25.

Meanwhile, the Monsoon Session of Parliament will begin today as the first day of the session will see voting for the presidential election. The central government will seek to push several legislations during the session as it will put 24 new bills for passage in the Parliament. Union Minister Prahlad Joshi has listed the government’s business for the session, which includes 14 pending bills and 24 new bills.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Director Horticulture Kashmir tours Budgam; assures orchardists of due assistance

Fuel demand in India declines in July so far